top of page
  • torchlightgirl

Garden Tour #3

Updated: May 22



As Samwise Gamgee says...P-O-T-A-T-O-E-S. Yep, I have potatoes growing. Let me tell you a little story of how these potatoes began. Three years ago, I planted some potatoes in buckets. Only one bucket did okay. I saved those and planted them in a small square area in another part of my garden. Last fall when my Bok Choy was done I planted them right in that spot. During the first few days of march I dug of the potatoes for they were ready. Some we ate. the rest I chose to replant on the same day of digging most up.


During the end of February, I had a bunch of potatoes that started to root. There were about 10 of them in a bag from the store. So, I grabbed them and planted them. Those are all the beautiful green tops you see.


Fast forward to April. I had another bag of potatoes starting to grow roots. I decided to try cutting them in sections and letting them heal up a few days before planting. Adding six more rows worked out great! The cut potatoes have begun to pop up.


It looks like this is a great place to keep my potatoes growing year round. They do like it there and lived through the freezing temperatures we had in January.


My goal is to not have to purchase potatoes again. Eventually, I will need to expand the area of planting the potatoes.


When cooking with potatoes, I only use 3-4 in a main dish. This helps stretch my food out farther. Doing what I can in order to be prepared for what could happen in November. Even now with the prices of food there are some items I refuse to buy anymore. Been like this for the last 3 years in my household honestly.


My favorite essential oils: Get yourself supported by essential oils. Grab yourself a wholesale bundle  of your choice with my 10% discount code SHAREYL Click Here


Thanks for stopping by and have a blessed day!



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page