top of page
  • torchlightgirl

Pressure Canning White Beans




Life has been extremely busy with woking on our ittle homestead. One of the weekly activities for me is either water bath canning or pressure canning. The cost of canned beans has increased in price the last 6 months quite a bit. Inflation continues to take a bite out of our household food budget.


I decided to try canning dried beans in my short term storage. I make 4 bean chili in my pressure cooker at least once a month and beans to add with our Spanish food. Yes, I cook from scratch a whole lot. Better for our overall health. Side note; I purchase my organic and non gmo dried good from azurestandard.com Use this code and let them know I sent you https://www.azurestandard.com/?a_aid=kGXRq6ecyS


This recipe was from my Ball canning jar book. Though I did can these dried. I did not rehydrate before canning them. First I picked throught the beans, then cleaned them twice before draining them. The recipe called for 1 cup beans per quart jar, 1 tsp salt and fill to one inch below the top of the jar. Remember to clean and sterilize your jars and lids first. Where I live the psi is 10 and can for 1 hour 30 minutes. Follow directions for the pressure canner you have.


My time is worth canning beans now. One quart jar can be added to chili, soups, stews, and other meals to bulk them up and still get protein.


Consider prepping your pantry with home canning items. Being able to grab a jar of goodness and not run to the store is wisdom right there. Keep prepping your food storage and cook homemade meals. You will save a lot of money in the long run.



Have an amazing day!!



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


bottom of page