top of page
  • torchlightgirl

Replace Butter With Apple Sauce

Well, I still have some butter in my freezer. Eventually it will run out and I will not be buying anymore. The price is just not worth it to me. The grocery money is better of spent elsewhere.


A few weeks back I made some simple pumpkin bread. Pulled out my Depression Era recipe folder and found the butter replacement sheet. Use 1/4 cup applesauce to what the butter amount calls for. Yep, super simple. The pumpkin bread was moist and quite tasty. Worked out fantastically for me. I will be trying some cookies soon with the applesauce instead and let you know how this works.



Enjoy the pumpkin bread recipe:


1 1/2 cups sugar ( I always use less sugar and it tastes just fine)

1/2 cup begetable oil or 1/4 cup applesauce

1 cup canned or home canned pumpkin

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp salt

1 3/4 cup flour

3/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cloves

1/4 tsp allspice

1/4 tsp ginger

*If I am out of the dried spices I have used one drop of my essential oils.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. grease and flour an 8 X 4 loaf pan. In a large bowl, wisk together sugar, oil (or applesauce) and eggs. Add pumpkin and vanilla, whisk to combined. Add all the dry ingredients together then add the wet ingredients to this. Becareful not to overmix.

Bake 45 to 55 minutes for dark or nonstick pans or up to 1 hour for glass, ceramic or light pans. Depending on what type of oven you can adjust baking times also. I have a natural gas stove and I always have to use less baking time. The bread will be done when you poke top of loaf with a tooth pick and it comes out clean. Let cool on a cooling rack before cutting.


Thanks for stopping by and have a blessed day.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


bottom of page