top of page
  • torchlightgirl

Toad In A Hole Recipe


In 2022 while searching for depression era and WW2 recipes in order to stretch my food budget, I found "Toad In A Hole." This is a filling meal and you can use any type of meat honestly. Ground sausage from the pig we purchased works just fine. Making long sausages from the ground meat was simple. This recipe feeds the 3 of us. You can make gravy or use a dried mix as I did. A few weeks ago I did make the onion gravy on the recipe. We all liked how the gravy turned out. The gravy in the photo is the premade mix type. I have a white sauce recipe that can be made into gravy too. Either way some type of gravy is needed with this yummy meal.


If you do a bit of research on the internet you can find many more old recipes to download. I do find these helpful overall. Yes, some are really icky and I wouldn't make. Many though are fantastic!


Feel free to diwnload the recipes.




With the times we are currently living in, saving money where ever we can is important. The older recipes tend to use less ingredients overall. So, in the long run it will stretch what you have on hand.


Have a blessed day and thanks for stopping by.



38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page